What I’ve been reading…….

If you have ever had the opportunity to hear Gina Barreca in person then you know how laugh-out-loud funny she is.  Well her new book It’s Not That I’m Bitter…: Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying About Visible Panty Lines and Conquered the World does not disappoint.  I was sitting on my deck one recent summer evening reading this, laughing out loud, and hoping none of the neighbors were outside listening.  Fans of Nora Ephron’s I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman (which I thoroughly enjoyed also) will find humor along with serious insights about women and aging.   Barreca packs a hilarious punch while gleefully rejecting emotional torture, embracing limitless laughter, and showing women how they can conquer the world with good friends (“It’s not that diamonds are a girl’s best friend, but a girl’s best friends are diamonds”), sharp wit, and great shoes.

Published in: on August 5, 2010 at 6:31 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://manrossmemoriallibrary.wordpress.com/2010/08/05/what-ive-been-reading-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have seen her in person. She makes me L.O.L.!!! I even have a book signed by her. Will read her new book. Pat


Leave a Reply

